ISA National Netball Champions 2016

March 9th, 2016 | Posted by Rebecca Walker in Gallery | News | Results | Sports

Showing a real strength in depth for a small school, St Joseph’s School Launceston took 3 netball teams to this national event for the first time. Held at Malvern St James, on Saturday 5th March 2016, the U14 competition was organised as a league while the U16 was played as 2 pools followed by a knockout.

All 3 of the teams started strongly in their 7 minute each way matches. The U16 team scored 11 goals in each of their first 2 matches, supporting and encouraging each other throughout: their tactics paid off, and at the end of the pool they had won 3, drawn and lost 1 taking them into the cup knockout.

They met The Grange School in the knockout and, after a very hard fought match, the score was 11 all: the team organisers advised that we would go to a golden goal and unfortunately they lost! However, they should be proud to say they very narrowly lost to the subsequent winners and should take pride that they were quarter finalist of this national event.

The U14 Lightning team went from strength to strength, scoring over 75 goals in their 8 matches and only conceding 15. As they went into their final game against Claire’s Court the points showed that whoever won this game would win the event. Even under this pressure the team took a commanding first half lead to begin the second 6-2 in front, and they didn’t lose from this strong position. The U14 Thunder team again had a good start, their team spirit was strong and they played very well. When they came up against the Lightning team in an all St Joseph’s battle they tried superbly well and we saw a great level of determination from every member of the team.

We are very proud to say the U14 Lightning team were crowned the ISA U14 National Netball Champions for 2016.

Thank you to Vicky Innes for her input and expert coaching with all the teams over the last term, and to Imogen Eddison for her support at the event.

U14 Lightning Team – National Champions 2016

Cathryn Nuta
Tillie Cholwill
Charlotte Nuta
Ava McDiarmid-Hall
Georgia Bolton
Zoë Woods
Bella Russell
Millie Turner

U14 Thunder Team
Ella Henry-Brock
Kitty May
Abi Marshall
Amber Quinn
Emma Honey
Hattie Loe
Lulu Howells

U16 Team
Tanna Rundle
Elysia Endacott
Emma Shaw
Holly Howells
Alina Nuta
Laura Sant
Zoe Williams
Kate Barrett

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 You can leave a response, or trackback.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *